Timothy Patrick McMahon

Yes, THAT Timothy Patrick McMahon!

A Long Read, But Please Do Read It!

leave a comment »

I am bored.

I need a long term project to take up my time. Something with a goal to work toward, and to look forward to. Something productive. Something fun.

I think I want to go back to school.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I already have one useless bachelors degree under my belt. (I’m a historian! Yeah Me!) And, I did start working towards a masters degree in education once in my life. But that is a degree that, at this time in my life, I do not have the passion to finish. –For some reason, having children of my own has sapped my desire to work with other peoples kids.

So, this time, I want to work towards a degree simply for the fun of it. I want to do something I enjoy. I want the work not to seem like work.

I’ve taken a look at the local schools and decided to to enroll in a Fine Arts program, with a concentration in Photography and Digital Media. Why? Basically, I just want to take stupid photos and then play with them in Photoshop. Like this one…

Pretty cool, eh?

Now, photography and Photoshop, these are skills I could probably teach myself. There are many great books and online tutorials on these topics. I’ve even read a few.  But, I know that I learn better in a class room environment, with guidance and hands-on experience.

Now, I could just take a course or two or three through the local Adult Ed program, or at a Community College.  But…

You see, my current employer will pay for any courses I take that will earn me a bachelors degree, a degree that I can not earn from the local community college or through adult ed.

While I don’t consider myself an artist (I’ve known real artists. They have passion, drive and talents that I severely lack), but I do like to “putter around”. I am rarely satisfied with my “creations”, but part of my believes that this is because I have never learned to properly use the correct tools, or use the tools correctly.

Okay, now onto the real reason I am writing this. As I said, my employer will pay for my education. Which they will, but only after each semester is over. It’s called “Tuition Reimbursement”. See, I have to pay for everything upfront, and then they pay me back at the end of the semester (providing I get at least a grade of C).

Now, I figure I need about $X.xx in “start up costs”. And because I am doing this mostly for the fun of it, I can’t bring myself to take this money out of our limited family coffers.  Nor am I willing to simply charge this all to plastic.  Instead, I’ve decided to do all I can to raise the money for this endeavor online.  How?  I’m Selling T-Shirts Baby!

Well, I’ll start to by selling t-shirts and other trinkets for now, and if any other ideas come to mind later, I’ll run with those.  If you have ideas, other then collecting cans, please let me know!

So, I’ve set up a shop on CAFE PRESS.  I’ll earn a percentage back on ever sale made.  Right now, I only have one design up, but I will have more in the near future.  Please share the link to www.cafepress.com/TimothyPMcMahon with all of your friends and family members.

Here is my first design, which you can get on T-shirts, hoodies, bags, magnets and other fine goods…

My first design for sale isn’t even my own creation.  It was done by my son Declan.  This image is his first self portrait.  He drew it and then proudly stated “This is me!”.  What I love about it, besides the fact that it represents my son becoming self aware, is how much the shape of the head just looks “right”.  Take out the eyes and mouth, and you have a rough sketch straight from that classic book “How To Draw Comics The Marvel Way”.  See…

Well, sorta kinda. ;-)

So anyway, please buy a shirt, come back to www.cafepress.com/TimothyPMcMahon often for new designs, spread the word (and the link), and thank you for helping me through my midlife crisis.

{I’m open to any and all feed back you may have about this quixotic quest of mine.}

Written by Timothy Patrick McMahon

January 8, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Posted in Art, Me, T-Shirts

Leave a Reply

